Select Language

Konrad Ruthardt Award - The award for „Best Innovation“

Dr. Konrad Ruthardt
Source: Heraeus
Dr. Konrad Ruthardt (1906-1989)

The award for „Best Innovation“ was named after physicist Dr. Konrad Ruthardt (1906-1973), founder and head of the Heraeus physical laboratory since 1935 and co-developer of high-vacuum technology including vapor deposition.

He was managing director and a shareholder after the Second World War. Konrad Ruthardt filed over 60 patents. He was the co-developer of silver-palladium alloys and other precious metal alloys used for switching contacts. The semi-mechanical electric switching contacts were very successful until they were superseded by purely electric contacts in the 1970s. His achievements in the development of precious metal-based contact materials continue to exist in modern forms today.

to top
You have not agreed to all cookies, which limits the use of the website and performance. To be able to use our website to its full extent, please agree to all cookies. You can change your preferences in the cookie settings.